Don’t Run Your Feet Bare…

Four years have passed by since my Angel Girl ascended to the heavens above. This time has passed in the blink of an eye, and my heart has been humbled by God’s grace. Somehow the speed of this passing time has calmed my perspective to that of a sensitive observer, and I realize how easy it is to miss the splendor of life.

The pace of life around us and the lure of the culture of the day can pull our devotion in directions that do not serve the purpose of our lives. When we are reacting at this tempo, we fail to see the beauty before us, and we are in danger of losing sight of God’s sovereign nature. What God wants for us, lies directly in front of us, we will not get to where He wants us to be by leaps and bounds, we will get there one step at a time.

The people in our life, attribute to the calling God has for us—none more important than the gift of our children. They are our responsibility and at times our greatest teachers. I recently said to my son “when I was a child growing up, time went by so slow, but witnessing your childhood is but a blink of an eye”. There are many things I wish I could have experienced with my Angel Girl. Some of these things were in my grasp, but the pace of life and the selfishness of my time trumped what was right in front of me, and now I have lost my opportunity.

Do not run until your feet are bare and your throat is dry. But you said, ‘It’s no use! I love foreign gods, and I must go after them. (Jeremiah 2:25)

My plea is that my experience will prompt myself and others to rejoice in the gifts that God has placed in our lives. We must cherish these things and not run our feet bare by chasing false securities which will not quench our thirst. The beauty of contributing to our children and encouraging their faith NOW is part of God’s agenda for our lives. There will not be time for this when you think you will get around to it later.

May God Bless You and Give You Grace!

About Michael Cartwright

Follower of Christ Jesus! I am a person of patience, compassion and understanding. I have been married to my wonderful wife Stephanie since 1990. We have 3 children Dalton, Dylan and my late daughter Angelica (My Angel Girl) who ascended to the heavens on June 29, 2010. She continues to teach me many great lessons.
This entry was posted in Adversity, Bereaved, Bereaved Parent, bible, Christian Faith and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Don’t Run Your Feet Bare…

  1. The Albans says:

    God bless you, Michael, and your family. We, too, know that loss and the years do not dull the loss. Only the knowledge that she knew God and lived in His grace keeps it from being overwhelming, at times. Love to each of you. Johnny & Barbara Alban

  2. Pingback: Monday Words for the Soul~June 30 | Because Of Grace

  3. keijo says:

    Joy an joy and be steadfast in with walking with the lord today and he provide us of best ability to not fall to pit or wound our feet and he wil give rest in long a journey with him to living healty life in healthy feet to joy,thanks and bless,keijo sweden

Leave a Reply

