Stumbling into Hope

HopeThe sureness of life at its peak is comforting, but as the days trickle by, we will stumble. This loss of footing may be the result of our own actions or the life events that are tossed onto our path without warning. These pitfalls can stimulate our faith in ways that grow our relationship with God, and we place a higher level of trust in His hands—this is a good thing.

The early passion we have for this new stimulated faith often has a time limit before we begin to question the why of what has happened. The timeframe of this shaken faith can be exposed within days, to years, and even decades. The one thing that occurs in this trust breakdown is that we have unconsciously and at times consciously written the outcome on our terms rather than Gods, and the limitation of our patience is our enemy.

Once this limitation has grabbed us, we lose our footing once again and our original stumble is magnified. We begin to look for other assurances to bring our walk back into balance. We may listen to the crowd or fill our heads with our own self delusions that seem to make sense until they have us stumble even further into despair.

The man of Job experienced a stumble in life that is far beyond any of the trials that have crossed my path. Through his anguish, and constant pressure from people within his circle of influence, he was faithful. Although he wavered, he remained standing firm in his faith.

15Though he slay me, I will hope in him; yet I will argue my ways to his face. 16This will be my salvation, that the godless shall not come before him. (Job 13:15-16)

As I learn from Job, my faith is strengthened by hope, and that hope is in God. Through my stumbling, I must remain patient in Him, and not allow my restless imagination, or others to carry me off course away from the purpose that God has in store for me.

May God Bless You and Give You Grace!

About Michael Cartwright

Follower of Christ Jesus! I am a person of patience, compassion and understanding. I have been married to my wonderful wife Stephanie since 1990. We have 3 children Dalton, Dylan and my late daughter Angelica (My Angel Girl) who ascended to the heavens on June 29, 2010. She continues to teach me many great lessons.
This entry was posted in Adversity, Bereaved Parent, child loss, Christ, Christian Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Stumbling into Hope

  1. Frank Giuliano says:

    Michael,

    This is a beautiful thought! We all stumble!

    Thanks again for being there for Jennifer and me Sunday!

  2. Michael – It is good to hear from you. Thank you for what you wrote, for it encourages me on my journey. God bless. Andy

  3. Pingback: Midweek Question of the Week~April 16 | Because Of Grace

  4. Pingback: daily cloudcast: Spiritual walk | daily meditation

Leave a Reply

