A Precious Gift Received…

Angel3The gift of life is a gift, and there is no obligation for repayment. If willing, gratitude arises and that appreciation serves as sufficient compensation. I received a precious gift twenty years ago bundled up and anointed Angelica Rae my Angel Girl. My gratitude overflows with all that God has given me through knowing, raising and loving this cherished gift, and I give thanks to my Lord for His generosity.

God’s timing and purpose is not for me to know, so when this precious gift returned to the heavens fourteen years into her young journey, I was submerged in grief. When the sting of my anguish found its resting place, I looked to God for comfort and understanding. It is difficult to explain the depth of my confusion, but I had to come to the absolute knowing that she was gone from her earthly walk and was not to return.

It would be too easy for me to throw blame at God for things I know nothing about. In truth, He knows my suffering beyond my full imagination. God tested Abraham through the offering of His son Isaac and recognized his devotion and loyalty to Him. Greater than this, the offering of His own Son Jesus shouts to the love that God reserves for us all. It is through this that I must realize that God knows the affliction and pain of my human experience.

…“Naked I came from my mother’s womb, And naked shall I return there. The Lord gave, and the Lord has taken away; Blessed be the name of the Lord.” (Job 1:21)

God knows all that I am, and has afforded me all that I have. He has allowed my walk to take shape in the direction I have set and waits patiently for me to recognize His will and to continually merge back onto the path that he has paved for my good. The gift of my Angel Girl was His to give and it was His allowance that permitted her to depart this earth when she did. I will not understand this fully until it is my time, but I accept that God understands and will continue to expose the blessings birthed from the precious gift He gave to me twenty years ago.

It is with this I bid Happy Birthday to my Angel Girl!

May God Bless You and Give You Grace!

About Michael Cartwright

Follower of Christ Jesus! I am a person of patience, compassion and understanding. I have been married to my wonderful wife Stephanie since 1990. We have 3 children Dalton, Dylan and my late daughter Angelica (My Angel Girl) who ascended to the heavens on June 29, 2010. She continues to teach me many great lessons.
This entry was posted in Adversity, Bereaved Parent, child loss, Christian Faith and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Precious Gift Received…

  1. VickieDawn says:

    Good post Michael.

  2. Jennifer giuliano says:

    Michael, you are a gifted writer!

  3. Anne G. Lang says:

    Michael, I found your blog tonight and saw the video of your beautiful Angel. I was reading my Bible and praying when I felt led to pick up my iPad. I typed in “my spiritual walk with God”. Your blog popped up and I read some of your blogs and then I began to read your homepage. I watched the video of your beautiful daughter. I would not be telling the truth if I didn’t tell you that tears stream down my face the Entire video and I myself cried out to God for His mercy. Then I watched the video of your lovely wife and you talking about you’re experience. I want you to know that your daughter will never be forgotten. She lives on not only in your heart but in the hearts of other believers. Together we celebrate, together we grieve as one body. I celebrate your daughter, Angel, her life, her smile, her beauty- as a stranger to you, but as one in the family of Christ Jesus. I’m praying for you, your boys and your wife. I am praying God’s precious and Rich blessings over your family and favor upon you. May God’s face shine upon you my friend all the days of your life and may you know The Lord’s deep love for you. I look forward to one day myself meeting your beautiful Angel in heaven. And remember a time when I prayed for her daddy on this earth. We serve an awesome and mighty God!
    All my love,
    Your sister in Christ

    • Anne, your words are too kind! You spoke to my heart with these comments, and I am thankful for that. We as a body, do grieve as one, and my spirit is has gratitude for your prayers. We will see our Lord in heaven when it is our time and I am sure my Angel girl will be my welcome Angel.
      God bless,
      Michael

  4. Ann Gardner says:

    Nothing, nothing, nothing will replace the beautiful Angel and the ache that you all feel in missing her. In reading Anne’s comment above I am reminded of Mrs. R. who accepted Christ after hearing the Gospel message at Angel’s funeral and is now in Heaven. Her eternal life is part of Angel’s legacy. My heart aches for you and the family today and always.

Leave a Reply

