Why the Trouble?

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33)

The journey I have traveled to this point in my life has had its bouts with trouble. Some minor, some major, some of my own making and some by happenstance. The point is, trouble comes in all shapes, sizes and from limitless directions; there is no free pass that exempts anyone from its inevitable nature. So as this unavoidable nuisance lingers in waiting, what is its purpose and why must we encounter the sting it produces.

There is progress to be made from the pain brought on by trouble of any kind. Of course, this is easy enough said, but as we are in the midst of the ailment at hand, our senses are blurred, and our focus cannot seem to find clarity. It is at this time that our anguish is at full strength and our ability to realize the temporal nature of its existence; if there is purpose behind it, we are in no place to realize it. I do know there is a life cycle to these attacks of trouble, and we must go through them, we cannot go around them or brush them aside as if they never occurred.

Trouble will strengthen us as we rely on the Lord to pull us through the depths of whatever they may be. Jesus states very clearly the trouble we experience will be of this world. No matter the severity, even if it follows us to the grave it is only temporary. He overcame the world and broke us free from the chains that bind us here. The price He paid was written before its fulfillment, which wholly assures me of the Divine plan God is unfolding.

So as we encounter the trials of life, we must remember their temporal nature. They will strengthen us as we look to God to bring us through them and find peace. And, above all else, they do not have the power to follow us beyond and into our eternal home.

God Bless You and Give You Grace!

About Michael Cartwright

Follower of Christ Jesus! I am a person of patience, compassion and understanding. I have been married to my wonderful wife Stephanie since 1990. We have 3 children Dalton, Dylan and my late daughter Angelica (My Angel Girl) who ascended to the heavens on June 29, 2010. She continues to teach me many great lessons.
This entry was posted in Christian Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Why the Trouble?

  1. Frank Giuliano says:

    Michael,

    Great Blog! You have a great way with words! I’m going back and read it again.

    Regards, Frank Giuliano

    G Team at Keller Williams SW GTeam1121@Gmail.com Member Agent Leadership Council 2012 832-276-5120 713-966-0720

  2. Thanks for helping me see my troubles from an eternal perspective. Your writings continue to inspire me. Blessings. ~Andy

  3. Amen! Wonderful post, Michael! Thank you for reminding us that our trials are only temporary. I am learning that as we use our hardship to strengthen us, we can become more and more like Christ. Jesus endured pain, temptation, betrayal,etc. on this earth. Its comforting to know that He understands how we feel and we can look to Him on how to respond to trials!

  4. Sweet Rains says:

    Knowing that tribulation produces patience; and patience, experience; and experience, hope; and having experienced the love and faithfulness of God through tribulations, while it isn’t necessarily easy to go through another one, knowing that God is, indeed, working in us, and that these sufferings are temporary, does make them a bit easier to endure. Thank you for the reminder. God bless you, too!

    • Thank you Sweet Rains! When I am in the midst of my tribulations…I must always remember that they are of this world and temporary. It is something I have to remind myself of all the time.

      God bless,
      Michael

  5. Jeff says:

    Good post. I enjoyed reading your thoughts today and visiting your blog

Leave a Reply

