The Sin within Me…

19For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. 20Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it. (Rom. 7:19-20)

The battle of the flesh is a struggle that I cannot escape. Within this war lie temptations, judgment, and the origin of selfish ventures. It is the sin that resides within me that is lured to the deceitful enticement of these godless attractions.

To flee from these unwelcome invitations is not enough to derail their intention. To do so simply strengthens their focus and they attack from a different angle. The enemy feeds on this resistance as a challenge, that I myself do not have the strength to combat. This go-it-alone misstep is the weakness this culprit needs to derail the virtue of my faith and lead me astray. There is a vicious cycle that occurs when I wrestle with this ongoing conflict, and the constant conclusion is that I am unable to conquer these quests on my own.

As a believer, I must acknowledge that sin resides within me, but I must also acknowledge that the Spirit of Christ resides within me as well. It is in the Spirit of Christ that I must find strength to face the collusion of sin and its allure to the godless attractions that are ever present around me. Rather than flee from these distractions, I must align with the Spirit and face them head on and diminish their destruction and purpose.

For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus has made me free from the law of sin and death (Rom. 8:2)

As this constant battle rages on, it is where my attention rests that prevails. I choose to face these ongoing enticements with the power and grace of Christ to strengthen my communion with His Spirit. This and this alone will begin to extinguish the damage brought on by the sin of my flesh.

God Bless You and Give You Grace

About Michael Cartwright

Follower of Christ Jesus! I am a person of patience, compassion and understanding. I have been married to my wonderful wife Stephanie since 1990. We have 3 children Dalton, Dylan and my late daughter Angelica (My Angel Girl) who ascended to the heavens on June 29, 2010. She continues to teach me many great lessons.
This entry was posted in Christian Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Sin within Me…

  1. Amen brother. As I read your post, I was reminded of this passage:

    I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me. (Gal 2:20)

    When I remember that my flesh is crucified with Christ (and therefore I am no longer obligated to obey its sinful desires), then I find the freedom and strength to walk after the Spirit. We are risen with Christ and seated with him in the heavenly places! May you find strength from your communion with him to overcome your temptations.

    Blessings,
    Andy

    • Thank you Andy…My communion with Him is my strength. This post was written out of a bible study through my home group. The study prompted me to look at my life and the sin within me. Our human thought cannot erase the random flights of judgments or “sin-starters” that slip in without warning. But, as we keep Jesus in our forethought, the power is lifted from their intent.

      God bless,
      Michael

  2. ellavenezia says:

    Michael- I pray that your humble seeking heart keeps connected with Christ during these times when the enticements of the enemy try to derail your faith. You are so important to our Heavenly Father. He has so much in store for you and your family. He is already using you in an exceedingly beautiful manner through your reach here in the blogosphere.

    I believe that is when we get bombarded with enticements. When we devote ourselves to the Father, this threatens evil and it must respond in this manner. Thank you for writing about this because it is reality. We can discuss matters of faith, but it is an incomplete discussion without talking about the realties of temptation and our struggle to keep communion with God’s will.

    God Bless you Brother and may he strengthen you and arm you with the fortitude to persevere.
    -Ella

    • Ella, thank you for your response and kind words. This post came from an exercise of acknowledging that temptation is all around us and within us. We cannot eradicate random thoughts that invade our mind without warning. We can however lean on our Lord’s power and grace to diminish the lure of their intent.

      God bless,
      Michael

  3. Tom Raines says:

    Thanks Michael, being honest about temptation and sin is the beginning of healing. Too often people are afraid to confess their sins. Yet, He is faithful and just and will forgive our sins and cleanse us if we confess. We all have thorns in the flesh and many times they are what bring us to Him. Galatians 2:20 is also my life verse that I have to remind myself of daily in the face of fleshly temptation. Blessings!

  4. HI Michael, I finally had a chance to respond to your new blog post. Thank you of reminding me of the battle we each deal with between our fleshly desires verses having a Christ-like mind and heart. May we all remember to be continually filled and controlled by the Spirit. I will always need His guidance and strength to develop a forgiving heart and to be able to flee temptation in my life here on earth.

  5. Micheal, temptation me lurk around ,but with God’s grace and my trust in Him in a time of need-it will not enter. Keeping my eyes on the hills where my help cometh from- the Lord!

    A Woman After God’s Own Heart ♥

  6. Samuel says:

    A good word, Michael. When we walk in the Spirit we won’t fulfill the lusts of the flesh. We need to be watchful.

    I like too what Andy has said above (if I may quote him):

    “When I remember that my flesh is crucified with Christ (and therefore I am no longer obligated to obey its sinful desires), then I find the freedom and strength to walk after the Spirit.”

    • Thank you Samual for visiting and commenting. As you say, we must remain the Spirit to keep the temptations of our flesh in check…and as Andy reminds us, “…and therefore I am no longer obligated to obey its sinful desires, then I find the freedom and strength to walk after the Spirit.”

      Thanks and God bless,
      Michael

Leave a Reply

