My Thankful Everything

In everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. (1 Thess. 5:18)

In the wake of tragedy, this passage can easily appear blurred and unapproachable. As for the obvious blessings in life, a grateful heart rises up and becomes somewhat effortless, although at times, the act of being thankful is overlooked. So to shrink the distance between these two extremes becomes a challenge.

The loss of my daughter Angel has taken my encounter with tragedy to the extreme edge of my senses. How can such an experience prompt me to give thanks? After all, this event falls within the everything the apostle Paul was speaking of. In all honesty, I cannot be grateful and give thanks for this tragedy. I must draw in deeper and focus beyond to expose the blessings birthed from this heartache.

One of these blessings is that I see Angel’s reflection in all that I do. This is a gift God has given me through the ashes that remain. My perception has purpose and simple things take the lead as to how I navigate the course ahead of me. The sadness in my heart will remain for my dear Angel. But, it is through this sorrow I am reminded of the blessings born from them, and it is through these means I can be thankful.

As I go forward, the everything in my life is all-inclusive, whether that of a simple meal, an obvious gift, or the blessings given birth on the other side of tragedy. I must be attentive to the efforts I put forth in my offering of gratitude and discover the affirmation in all that I offer. The Lord has taught me these truths through the loss of my Angel, and for that, I am thankful.

May God Bless You and Give You Grace.

About Michael Cartwright

Follower of Christ Jesus! I am a person of patience, compassion and understanding. I have been married to my wonderful wife Stephanie since 1990. We have 3 children Dalton, Dylan and my late daughter Angelica (My Angel Girl) who ascended to the heavens on June 29, 2010. She continues to teach me many great lessons.
This entry was posted in Christian Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Thankful Everything

  1. Patricia says:

    Absolutely beautifully written Michael. I think we all struggle with this passage after the loss of our children, I know I certain have. But you are correct in that we must be thankful for the gifts that our children, in their death, have given us.
    Yes, we will always be sad, always miss them, but also the joy that can come after such a profound loss can be as wonderful as the loss is terrible. They have given us the gift of sight which we didn’t have before, and this is their greatest gift to us.
    God bless you for such a wonderful post. We all need a reminder some times, especially in the sad times.
    Patricia

  2. thank you for your post…you write remarkably and are ministering to many like me as you “fight the good fight” despite your great loss… keeping you and your wife and children in prayer…

    • Helen, thank you for stopping by. I pray that there is a glimmer of ministry within my words and the experience I share. As I fight the good fight, you affirm my prayers by your words.

      Thank you and God bless,
      Michael

  3. Jim Jacobus says:

    I love the way you think and write brother! Blessings for what you are doing by sharing with others!

  4. transitionscoachingcayman says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. I looked at the video of photos, she was a beautiful girl. Thank you for sharing your pain and your faith with the world.

Leave a Reply

