The Choice of Free Will

Today I have given you the choice between life and death, between blessings and curses. Now I call on heaven and earth to witness the choice you make. Oh, that you would choose life, so that you and your descendants might live! (Duet 30:19)

The choices we make in life define our direction. This is a true statement. We have been given that freedom when it comes to our relationship with the Lord, our Father in heaven. He wants nothing more than us to find our way to life and choose a relationship with Him and through Him.

I have been guilty in times of want that I have forced or manipulated the means by which I acquire the false need I may be seeking. Whatever godless maneuver I use in this scenario comes from selfish motives and in the end leads to an unfulfilled result.

I use this illustration in contrast to the means by which God relates to us. He wants us to choose a relationship with Him. He will not force or manipulate that course of action. He is already drawn in with us and waits patiently for us to draw into Him. His fulfillment comes by us choosing life through Him by means of our own discovery of His truth.

My journey took me through a battleground of scrambled choices before I found my way and accepted this truth. I had to fight through my own deceptions and come to my own conclusions along the way. They were not thrust upon me as a “no way out” scenario.

God wants us to find our way to Him through a genuine desire to seek Him. There is no value to Him in a no-choice decision on our part. When we do find our way to life in Him, He calls on heaven and earth to witness this choice and rejoice. We become fulfilled by this earthly choice and as we choose life we live in eternity.

May God Bless You and Give You Grace.

About Michael Cartwright

Follower of Christ Jesus! I am a person of patience, compassion and understanding. I have been married to my wonderful wife Stephanie since 1990. We have 3 children Dalton, Dylan and my late daughter Angelica (My Angel Girl) who ascended to the heavens on June 29, 2010. She continues to teach me many great lessons.
This entry was posted in Christian Faith, Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Choice of Free Will

  1. Ella says:

    Michael- Very thought provoking post. “I have forced or manipulated the means by which I acquire the false need I may be seeking.” This got me to thinking that doing the opposite can also yield “a battleground of scrambled choices.”

    In other words, by waiting…and waiting…for a sign, which doesn’t seem to come, one also is exercising free will. The decision to not act, and instead wait in a limbo state, can eat away at our potential. Slowly but surely we go to sleep, and nothing fruitful yields. Just like your post says, “There is no value to Him in a no-choice decision on our part,” so too not making a decision is a decision. We must be willing to go out on a limb for Him, to stretch our Faith to meet our potential (rather than keeping ourselves small and safe in the comfort that is mediocrity and status quo), or we will not find Him.

    God’s Blessings to you Michael!
    -Ella

  2. Wonderful post, Michael! It’s amazing that God loves us so much that He gives us the freedom to choose whether to follow Him or not. Thank you for reminding us of that and sharing what God taught you on your journey towards growing both emotionally and spiritually.

Leave a Reply

