The Compassion of Community

Share each other’s burdens, and in this way obey the law of Christ. (Gal. 6:2)

There is a vital responsibility that is ignited in a believer of Christ. This mission is born and nourished through community and the coming together of believers. This task spurs compassion towards others through trial, misfortune or heartache without hesitation.

This was the case for my family when we were the recipients of such love and kindness through the loss of our daughter Angel. There is a certain humility we experienced when others sustained us through this tragedy. It is through Christ and that experience that we have grown and strive to embody the gracious support that we received.

This video illustrates our experience with the importance of community and becoming involved in small groups through your home church.

Without our relationship with Christ and the compassion of His community, we would be unable to be endure the tragedy of our loss. As the great commandment instructs; Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself’ (Luke 10:27).

May God Bless You and Give You Grace.

About Michael Cartwright

Follower of Christ Jesus! I am a person of patience, compassion and understanding. I have been married to my wonderful wife Stephanie since 1990. We have 3 children Dalton, Dylan and my late daughter Angelica (My Angel Girl) who ascended to the heavens on June 29, 2010. She continues to teach me many great lessons.
This entry was posted in Christian Faith and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Compassion of Community

  1. Ann Gardner says:

    Your video is so touching and yet it shows what being in a small group can do. They carry each other through the bad times and celebrate the good times together.
    We had a similar experience of being helped by our home team three years ago this month., I woke up from what I thought was being asleep to find a RPC friend in my bedroom washing me and dressing me. I thought that it was the good samaritan! It turned out that I’d been in a head-on collision, lost consciousness and memory and had other injuries. RPC showed up big time. This was two weeks before Thanksgiving—we spent Thanksgiving Day at a church family’s home. This was six weeks before my daughter’s wedding. When the invitations arrived, we found out that I could not read them, write on them or even fold them. RPC women, and a few men, put on the wedding, everything from invitations to taking me to the Mall and outfitting me to cleaning up after the reception. I could not drive for five months and through all that time RPC people showed up and drove me for therapy and shopping. RPC home teams and meals ministry fed us for months.
    I would encourage anyone reading this who is not in a home team to find one and make some lifelong friends.

  2. Ann Gardner says:

    The scripture that stayed on my mind about the friends who helped us was Ephesians 2:10″For we are His workmanship,created in Christ Jesus for good works,which God prepared beforehand for us to do.”

  3. Sebastian says:

    Michael, I’ve enjoyed reading several of your posts. The loss of a loved one is so often unexplained but I am grateful that you and your family have found grace and strength in the midst of it. Thank you for letting the world peek into your world and see the love of God in you! Also, I appreciate you stopping and following by my blog.

  4. Hi Michael,
    I recently put a link to your site on my website. Thank you for sharing your story. The video in this post was beautifully done. May you and your wife continue to use your experiences to touch other people’s lives.

  5. Micheal, you know it seems so unfair in life to us when a love one is taken from us, but it sounds to me you and yor family gained so much more! Its like a blind man with no sight, yet all of his others senses become stronger. What I am trying to say is you and your family hearts have been drawn closer to God, to community, to loving neighbors.

    Love our neighbors! We can not just love our immediate family, and distant family without loving our neighbors(everyone that crosses our path) too. If we don’t love our neighbors then we don’t love God. I treat everyone as if they have an important sign on their forehead! God does it for us, even as sinners. Angelica, has brought so much more to your life! She is in heaven with not a care or fear in the world. While we are left behind to align the pieces, and prepare our souls. Your family has gained a diamond in the rough. I say to you fire will burn you, if you let it consume you within. But fire also purifies too. If you go through the fire at the other end is a gold mine waiting just for you!
    I believe you and your family have went through the fire and found your gold mine. Now you must help others and show them the way, Our Heavenly Father’s Way. I have enjoyed your triumph and Victory over adversity. I will like to add you to my blogroll for others to be inspired too.

    Blessings to you and your family and thank you for inspiring me to be thankful for the smallest gifts from God, and cherish them while we have them. Amen.

    • Shenine,

      I want to thank you for stopping by and expressing your kind words. As you say, our neighbors are all around us, friends and strangers alike.

      The experience of loosing my earthly daughter has brought me closer to her and has bonded me even deeper in my heavenly Father. The course of life has a balance that it hard to understand at times until it is flashed before our eyes. I would have chosen another method for this path, but God is much wiser and more intuitive than I.

      Thank you again and God bless,
      Michael

  6. It was placed on my heart, and so I am being obedient. God bless you.

    NEVER APART WITH GOD
    Mom and Dad, it still must seem like yesterday
    Where we all sat in the family room, where we gathered everyday.
    You couldn’t have imagined that such a loss could come, in such an unknown and swift way.
    I see you have more time to pray and creating new, Godly friendships every day.
    Who would have thought that I would be the chosen one, handpicked by God’s only begotten son?
    As I look from the heavens, down upon the earth. I see the Lord’s reason for taking me has given you and mom a new profound rebirth!
    I am not a loss but a gain in heaven and to you, where I am loved and without fear. You must now live out God’s plan for you, for His presence is very near.
    Know that you both are loved very dear. God loves you both so much, this is truth to you.
    God has angels all around you both and my brothers too. I know things still are not the same. Why? Because now,you have a daughter who is with the name that’s above every name! His name is Jesus and he is mighty and bright. I thank Him for giving me such great parents who made my days on earth just right. When you are looking at my photos, as you often do, I want you to know that I love you, and this is for sure. But there is a loving savior who loves you even more. I am happy here in this beautiful, harmonious place; don’t forget about God’s unyielding grace. I know we will meet again one day face to face. I am with you, living in your hearts, as long as you continue to love God we will never be apart.

    Angel from Heaven

Leave a Reply

