The Timing of Patience

But you must not forget this one thing, dear friends: A day is like a thousand years to the Lord, and a thousand years is like a day. (2 Pet 3:8)

It may be one of those strange coincidences, or my way of steering a series of thoughts to make a point…I am truly not sure. The fact is, I started this post on “time” and “patience” over three weeks ago and it has just now begun to take shape. I now realize rushing these thoughts into the written word did not work. My hope that having patience with them has birthed the substance they deserve. With that being said, I will attempt to make sense of these thoughts as they find a resting place in this journal.

To rush to an outcome in anything I do can cause unwelcome circumstances to follow. When I find myself in this train of thought, it is a clear sign that I have placed my own selfish ambitions above God’s will for me. Prayer for instance is a prime example of a “fill in the blank” mentality that, at times has me trying to answer my own prayers rather than giving way to patience. The Divine time of God has a different pulse than our seemingly simple pace of life. I must remember the timing of His fulfillment is perfected to my needs, as He knows them and not what I suspect them to be.

The other side of this “rush to an outcome” scenario is complacency…the comfort of doing nothing so to speak. This lack of action mentality places all the responsibility on God and gives way to blame when nothing works out. It is a dangerous place to be. The thought is that I am giving it to God so everything will work out…but then fail to step in faith.

As we look to the Lord to fulfill our needs, answer our prayers, and give us guidance, we must be patient as we step in faith, but we must step in faith. We cannot rush the will of God for us and we cannot be bystanders expecting our life to be lived for us. God does not want us to be passive in our pursuit of Him or the life around us.

This passage speaks to the patience of the Lord. He is unwary in His delivery because His timing is based on an end result, which encompasses His wisdom and not that of our own. So look to the Lord with patience and step in faith as He leads you and witness the timing of His patience.

May God Bless You and Give You Grace.

About Michael Cartwright

Follower of Christ Jesus! I am a person of patience, compassion and understanding. I have been married to my wonderful wife Stephanie since 1990. We have 3 children Dalton, Dylan and my late daughter Angelica (My Angel Girl) who ascended to the heavens on June 29, 2010. She continues to teach me many great lessons.
This entry was posted in Christian Faith, Faith, faith walk, God, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Timing of Patience

  1. There are times when I need a reminder for patience. Thank you.

  2. Ann Gardner says:

    Patience has been one of the hardest lessons for me–thank God that he has the patience to teach me over and over and over. I have also learned that waiting on God is an active waiting, not sitting around apathetically. You expressed it far better than I could have.
    Blessings to you and your family on Thanksgiving.

  3. Great post, Michael! I agree. “We cannot rush the will of God for us.” We need to remember, “He has made everything beautiful in its time” (Ecclesiastes 3:11).

Leave a Reply

