The Light in the Shadows

I can say with a genuine heart that my walk for more than a year now has been guided and protected in ways that are hard to explain. I have experienced the pure promise of the Lord as my shepherd. I have witnessed the comfort of Him fulfilling my needs as I turn to Him to ease the burden of my sorrow.

My spirit has been renewed through this promise as a gift. The gratitude that comes from such a gift has ignited a servant’s heart calling me to follow the Lord with sincere respect and integrity.

The valley of the shadow of death speaks to me in a specific way…maybe for obvious reasons. I have been in and am going through this valley. It is as if I am walking through a forest on a sunny day. With the thick brush of the trees I am unable to see the sun, but as I travel through the random clearings along the way, the light from above is revealed. It brings with it warmth and a clear vision for the path that lies before me. The assurance of this light continues to subdue the fears as they surface within the shadows of my journey.

I am not to fear my enemies for the Lord is my protector and healer in all things. I have been blessed and continue to experience His grace as the power of His promise continues to reveal itself. I know as I continue to look to Him in all that I do, He will remain compassionate for my needs as He sees them. I will rely on these things knowing I will be with the Lord beyond always.

…This has been my experience of the 23rd Psalm

The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.
He makes me lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside the still waters.
He restores my soul;
He leads me in paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.
Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil; for You are with me;
Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.
You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You anoint my head with oil; My cup runs over.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life;
and I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.

May God Bless You and Give You Grace.

About Michael Cartwright

Follower of Christ Jesus! I am a person of patience, compassion and understanding. I have been married to my wonderful wife Stephanie since 1990. We have 3 children Dalton, Dylan and my late daughter Angelica (My Angel Girl) who ascended to the heavens on June 29, 2010. She continues to teach me many great lessons.
This entry was posted in Christian Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Light in the Shadows

  1. Debbie says:

    What a beautiful expose on the 23rd Psalm, Michael. Thank you for the encouragement that His grace is the power of His promise. You continue to be an inspiration.

  2. ephesians516 says:

    Thank you for painting a vivid word picture of the journey through the valley of the shadow of death. For those of us who walk through it, the light that occasionally breaks through is a welcome brightness and warmth. I appreacite the depth of your writings.

    Wishing you God’s peace and comfort.

    Andy

  3. Ann Gardner says:

    Thank you. I really enjoyed this and have been going back to it daily.
    A lot of food for thought.

  4. Tom Raines says:

    Powerful! “beyond always”! How grateful are we?!! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

