The Sword of Assumption

A fool gives full vent to his anger, but a wise man keeps himself under control. (Prov. 29:11)

There have been many times on this winding road when I have fallen prey to the sword of assumption. Fragments of idle dialog involving the circumstances of my life, especially this past year, somehow get tuned in to my listening frequency. At times these have been heartfelt, others have brought splinters of pain, while still others have exploited my assumption of what I think them to be.

As I am learning along my walk, I not only must filter what I speak, I must filter what I am willing to listen to. If I adhere to all the leisure chatter that finds its way into my surroundings, I will lose control of my ability to respond with integrity and perspective. Failing to walk in this way gives anger the motivation it needs to rise up and cause unnecessary conflict.

My responsibility falls squarely on my shoulders as to what I believe, verbalize, or pay attention to. As James recites “…Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry” (Jas 1:19). I cannot assume responsibility or purpose of others expressed opinions and beliefs. I am to listen with discernment and choose my words with caution if I am to react to my assumptions.

If I choose to react to my assumptions, I pray I use my words for comfort and not the source of the pain they are capable of. And, as words from others given birth by their assumptions find their way to me, I am able to listen to them with the knowledge of what I know the truth to be.

May God Bless You and Give You Grace.

About Michael Cartwright

Follower of Christ Jesus! I am a person of patience, compassion and understanding. I have been married to my wonderful wife Stephanie since 1990. We have 3 children Dalton, Dylan and my late daughter Angelica (My Angel Girl) who ascended to the heavens on June 29, 2010. She continues to teach me many great lessons.
This entry was posted in Christian Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Sword of Assumption

  1. Ella says:

    I like how you draw the connection to what one speaks and hears, are both ways which we can participate in the sword of assumption.
    -Ella

  2. Debbie says:

    Michael – Oh yes, the sword of assumption cuts deep. Thank you for the excellent post and the reminder to clean my filter.

Leave a Reply

