The Promise of Good

And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose. (Rom 8:28)

I have lived through this scripture over the past year from the perspective of a debilitating heartache. So the “all things” within my current story is that of loss and grief. In truth, “all things” is vast and complete referring to adversities, blessings and everything in between. Keeping this in mind, I try to see the fulfillment of the promise of “good” in all that comes to me.

So what is “good”? My definition of the idea of “good” has traveled a long road. Early on good things or circumstances were taken at face value. This self-defined “good” is an obvious grasp at what I perceive to be “not bad” and has a comfort that is absent from stress or ill will. So to read and apply this passage with this diluted “good” in mind throws limits on the truth of its meaning.

In truth “good” may have trials of its own, and to see it surface as God’s “good” at times becomes difficult. God’s definition of “good” encompasses an end result that I do not have the vision to see. It is possible when I realize that “good” coming to be; I fail to recall the initial adversity or blessing that gave it life to begin with. I lose track of the chain of events of its path and more than likely attribute it to some other unsuspecting event. All the while God knew where this path would lead.

The most crucial element of this verse is “to those who love God”. This is a promise for the devoted. To love God and show your love for Him gives Him cause. It is those who love Him, who rely on Him. I have gained a deeper love for Him through my current “all things” season; I know He will bring me through to the “good” that is on the other side.

Woven within the adversities and blessings we experience, the “all things” so to speak, there is opportunity to learn. Once these lessons are realized it is imperative that we bring purpose to them. Lessons learned bring knowledge and knowledge becomes wisdom if we choose to share it for the extended “good”. God’s purpose for us is to reveal the “good” that comes from the “all things” that we experience because of our love for Him…as He loves us.

May God Bless You and Give You Grace.

About Michael Cartwright

Follower of Christ Jesus! I am a person of patience, compassion and understanding. I have been married to my wonderful wife Stephanie since 1990. We have 3 children Dalton, Dylan and my late daughter Angelica (My Angel Girl) who ascended to the heavens on June 29, 2010. She continues to teach me many great lessons.
This entry was posted in Christian Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Promise of Good

  1. Ella says:

    Michael-
    I myself have been living by this verse for a loooong time. It is trust after all that allows us (when weak) to come back to (eventually) that God will work “all things” for our good. I just wait, wait, tap, tap, tap… and wait some more for these “good” things (that I’ve requested) to manifest. Meanwhile he is blessing me with other things (I may not have asked for), but he delivers just the same. My dad recently said, “God gives us what we need, not what we want.” I liked hearing that, and I didn’t, at the same time. Again, the kid in me that wants what I want….didn’t like hearing that because perhaps what I want, the Lord knows I do not need? (explanation why it has not arrived yet) Or is it that His time is different from mine? And it’s making it’s way to me? Who knows?! And herein lies the test of faith, trust, and consequently my spiritual journey 🙂

    So you saying, “In truth “good” may have trials of its own, and to see it surface as God’s “good” at times becomes difficult.” Makes me smile because it is also the conclusion I’ve come to. What makes us think when we experience “bad” times or setbacks, that they in and of themselves are not also good for us? We just don’t have the “vision to see,” as you eloquently shared. It is after all walking through these that builds character. So if we had all we wanted, would we turn our back on Him? Would our ego tell us we didn’t need Him? Is this why there’s always a holdback? To keep us humble and vulnerable so we need God? Hmm.

    So we trek on…in faith, hope, expectation, and strength…and loving Him regardless of our difficulties….or because of them.
    Blessings to you!
    -Ella

    • Ella,
      It is only through what we experience can we grow and as you said, God knows what we need in order to grow. I believe it is also crucial to share that growth as we realize it. Your journey echos this.

      Thank you and God bless,
      Michael

  2. Ann Gardner says:

    You don’t know how much I needed to read this today, but God did .We’ve been under attack since this Spring and today I was praying about seeing some of the good come out of it. Here’s a bit from the prayer that I wrote and I pray it for you and your family too.

    Heavenly Father, we thank You that we don’t have to live with sadness or hurt because You have promised that “weeping may endure for a night but joy comes in the morning”. Thank You that You have put gladness into all of our hearts and that we can put on the garment of praise in exchange for the spirit of heaviness. We glorify You as Lord of all and praise You for what you’re doing in our lives.
    Heavenly Father, we praise You and thank You that You have given us a sound mind and we claim that today. Thank you that You are not the author of confusion but of peace.We choose peace this day and we worship You, our God of peace.Thank You that we have the mind of Christ and can cast down every argument and high thing that would exalt itself against the knowledge of You. Help us to be renewed in our minds and put on the new person You created us to be in righteousness.

  3. Thank you Ann…That is an awesome prayer. Your prayers are felt and deeply appreciated.
    God bless,
    Michael

  4. SPTP2011 says:

    Morning
    You said it all with this line: All the while God knew where this path would lead.
    Prayers for your day

  5. Michael,
    I love how you described the “diluted good” because until we’ve been through some of “all of those things”, we don’t know what good is. It seems to be more circumstantial than anything, but true “good” is exactly what you said… that God knew where this path would lead the whole time. May God bless you for leaning on Him and turning to him in all times. Thank you for sharing, and may God’s promises reach you fully in His perfect timing.

  6. Angela, yes God sets the path and will continue to set the path. He knows where it will lead and we have to learn to trust in Him.

    Thanks and God bless,
    Michael

  7. ephesians516 says:

    Michael – I appreciate the way you dissected this verse. We have been clinging to this promise through the tragic death of our son. We have seen some good fruit birth from our tragedy but, as you mention, God’s definition of “good” may be beyond all that we comprehend in this life. Thank you for sharing what you have learned.

    • Andy, I deeply appreciate your reflection on this passage study. As with you, the plight of losing a child weighs heavy on our journey, and we know that God is our refuge in “all things”. Your Isaac and my Angel are home as they sprinkle our days with the memory of their joy.

      God bless you my friend,
      Michael

  8. I’m glad you found my blog; it’s given me the opportunity to see yours and read your story. I’m without words regarding your loss. All I can say is I have a daughter (she’s 10 now) and I miss her very much. She lives with her mother, who chose divorce several years ago, in a different state.
    This passage has been an anchor for me over the past several years. I challenge you to read versus 26-28 in the Message Version. It casts a thought-provoking light on this passage.
    This chapter in my life has forced me to be more purposeful in my quest to know God and my desire to cling to Him.
    Another passage on my mind lately has been Matthew 7:9-11. I choose to focus on the last part of verse 11 as a bit of reassurance.
    In the meantime I will follow your journey here.

    • Todd, thank you you so much for visiting. I appreciate your input…I read the suggested verses through the Message Version and they read well and to the point. I actually wrote about this last December https://spiritualwalkwithgod.wordpress.com/2010/12/21/prayer-of-purpose/ – They have helped me along my journey. I know you miss your daughter. It is the challenges of this world at times that we must conquer, and it is through the Lord this is possible. I would urge you to Love your daughter with all you are…as I’m sure you do. Extend that same love to her mother with sincerity, because she is her mother. We will both cling to God as He leads us along our way.

      Thank you again and God bless,
      Michael

Leave a Reply

