The Lifted Veil…

Nevertheless when one turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away.
(2 Cor. 3:16)

The reality that I know holds true for many simple, ordinary and complex elements within my life’s surroundings. With this I can say in confidence that a baseball is round, the sky is blue and a pot of boiling water is hot. So, the common things around us, and the things that make up our perception, are for the most part straightforward and easy to grasp.

As a Christian there are other scenarios that do not follow this obvious flow of life. A spiritual eye-opening truth announces there is strength in weakness leading the way to humble ourselves before God and diminish our pride. We vow to love our enemies removing the power of hate from their clutch, and learn that the light shines out of darkness bringing Christ’s knowledge into our hearts.

I do know that the trials of life can ignite a faith journey that prompts us to look to God; they can also take us down a sunken road if we choose to go it alone. Life is precious and the hardships that surface along the way magnify its frailty. The Lord knows our intricate makeup and what is required to mend our brokenness. We must stay off the sunken road and turn to Him when we are broken. As a friend once said to me “Jesus first had to break the bread before the hungry could eat”

As my commitment to Christ took hold and I turned to Him, the veil was lifted and my blind eyes could witness these truths as they made their way into my journey. As I continue my devotion and experience more of His promise I learn there are many layers to this unveiling. He has brought me a comfort and understanding that would not be possible otherwise. My prayer is that you find this comfort and truth as well.

May God Bless You and Give You Grace.

About Michael Cartwright

Follower of Christ Jesus! I am a person of patience, compassion and understanding. I have been married to my wonderful wife Stephanie since 1990. We have 3 children Dalton, Dylan and my late daughter Angelica (My Angel Girl) who ascended to the heavens on June 29, 2010. She continues to teach me many great lessons.
This entry was posted in Christian Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Lifted Veil…

  1. Debbie says:

    Without a doubt, you’re right, Michael – we only see dimly now. Grace lifts the veil.

  2. Ann Gardner says:

    I have been thinking about this since you posted the other day.
    The closer I get to God, the more the veil is lifted; the more the veil is lifted, the closer I get to God. God is awesome in that He wants us to get closer to Him. True closeness will happen when we arrive in Heaven but the journey is so much better when we get as close to God as we can while we’re here on earth.

Leave a Reply

