My Restored Gift…

As God’s partners, we beg you not to accept this marvelous gift of God’s kindness and then ignore it. For God says, “At just the right time, I heard you. On the day of salvation, I helped you.” Indeed, the “right time” is now. Today is the day of salvation. (2 Cor. 6:1-2)

There was a time when I strolled along this journey of life distant from the wonder that it is a gift from above. Minutes turned to hours; hours to days, days to months and then the years would accumulate without a second thought. I now find time is precious and unimportant all in the same breath. I know this to be true, because in the blink of an eye my existence can change course without warning. This was the case almost three years ago when the gravity of heaven lifted my sweet Angel Girl to her eternal home.

As this stark reality settled in my spirit, the question of salvation invaded my thoughts. My mortal makeup was consumed with the promise of the eternal home where my Angel now resides. The enhanced awareness towards this promise slowed the pace of life for me and allowed me to take inventory of my faith. This exercise evoked a fresh outlook making it clear that God has entrusted us with a gift that is not to be wasted.

God hears our cries and helps us through our journey as we become submerged in the twists of life. He is able to soften the sting of our adversities regardless of their severity. The only requirement for this attentive healing is our willingness to turn to Him with sincere humility and ask Him to mend what is on our heart.

I am making my way through this heartache with God’s grace and the gift He has given me. I have come to know that it is a gift that should not be ignored. Even though minutes turn to years, it is the seconds ticking by that make up the journey. It is my restored faith that has added purpose to my journey, which at this moment is sharing that restoration with you through these words.

May God Bless You and Give You Grace.

About Michael Cartwright

Follower of Christ Jesus! I am a person of patience, compassion and understanding. I have been married to my wonderful wife Stephanie since 1990. We have 3 children Dalton, Dylan and my late daughter Angelica (My Angel Girl) who ascended to the heavens on June 29, 2010. She continues to teach me many great lessons.
This entry was posted in Christian Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to My Restored Gift…

  1. sarawith4 says:

    My faith is the only way I have survived the loss of my daughter to. I thank God for his grace and his eternal love xxx

  2. Ann Gardner says:

    Knowing you, watching you and talking to you over the past year has encouraged me as I watch you walk in faith during this dark valley. Your faith that God is walking with you and will bring you out into His light will be rewarded . Salvation did come to one person who was at Angel’s funeral and heard about Heaven and God’s love. Praying for you, Stephanie and the boys on this one year anniversary.

    • Thank you Ann…Yes there have been several that have found their way to the Lord through Angel’s passing. It has been some of the beauty from her ashes.

      God bless,
      Michael

      • I have grown a lot in my faith over this past year, and a huge part of that was because of my precious cousin. It also forced me to take inventory of my faith. Because of God working through Angel, my heart has been softened and I have been able to give my whole heart to Jesus. Watching you and the boys as you have journeyed through this past year, and to see how your faith has grown has also inspired me. Thank you.

      • Thank you Crystal Girl!

  3. I really liked where you wrote that “I now find time is precious and unimportant all in the same breath.” It’s one of those crazy paradoxes that I keep encountering in my faith. It’s both beautiful and frustrating to try to understand. I don’t know who it was that I was reading, but he wrote that time is so confusing to us because we weren’t created to be constrained by time like we are. We were created with a different home where time isn’t corrupted like it is here on earth. I don’t know if that has biblical backing, but I thought it was interesting. 🙂

    • Thank you Kathryn for visiting. Yes, I believe Divine time (…day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years are like a day – 2 Pet 3:8) is measured at a rate that we are not capable to comprehend, which is the challenge for us a we journey along our path.

      God bless,
      Michael

  4. lannalife says:

    Thanks for sharing so personally Michael. A breath of fresh air. Taking inventory of our faith and how we live our lives is something the Lord has also been impressing on me – especially with the real prospect of losing my wife of 30yrs! She still walks me with me but there is now a freshness in our relationship. Taking stock has this potential to actually breathe life and freshness, just as you shared. Thanks again Michael. May you continue to grow in his grace as you continue to miss your daughter.

  5. This is beautifully written. His grace is sufficient.

  6. What beautiful post. I stopped by to read because I saw your blog address when you left a comment on mine today. I was curious how long ago you lost your Angel Girl. I see that is has been an entire year already. A bit more, since I an commenting a few weeks after your post.
    My heart goes out to all of you.

  7. david says:

    A wonderful testimony of a father’s compassion and love. When the time is right, I believe you will see her again when you hear these words, “Well done, good and faithful servant… enter into the joy of your Master.”

Leave a Reply

