Sorrows Blessings…

2to proclaim the acceptable year of the LORD, and the day of vengeance of our God; to comfort all who mourn, 3to console those who mourn in Zion, to give them beauty for ashes, the oil of joy for mourning, the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness; that they may be called trees of righteousness, the planting of the LORD, that He may be glorified.” (Isaiah 61:2-3)

It has been almost a year since my Angel Girl passed

I have found my way through this time with the help of many and the reliance on one. The many encompass friends and family, especially my wife Stephanie, who bridges both…she is my best friend and the soul of our family. She is the only one close to me who shares the level of anguish that has fallen upon me.

Even with the help of so many, Father God remains the only one I can truly rely on. As June has come back around, the Lord is the one I have turned to by minute, by day, by month and now by year. He has been my comfort as I talk with Him often and He lifts the burden of grief from my shoulders. As the weight settles back down, which it does, He is faithful to remove it once again…and again.

This routine has become common in my daily walk, and the heaviness has lightened somewhat, but still remains steady at varying degrees. Through this process of sorrow, there have been blessings that cannot be ignored; my faith has been strengthened as God continues to lay comfort on my path, there has been the kindness of friends and strangers alike which have softened my acts of selfishness, and the Lord has given me a new perspective as to what is truly important on this journey of life.

To reflect on all of this, I know the Lord has given me beauty for ashes through this valley I am in. He has consoled my mourning and has anointed me with His oil of joy. I praise Him for being true to His Word and know that there is nothing that I cannot rely on Him for. Amen.

May God Bless You and Give You Grace.

About Michael Cartwright

Follower of Christ Jesus! I am a person of patience, compassion and understanding. I have been married to my wonderful wife Stephanie since 1990. We have 3 children Dalton, Dylan and my late daughter Angelica (My Angel Girl) who ascended to the heavens on June 29, 2010. She continues to teach me many great lessons.
This entry was posted in Christian Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sorrows Blessings…

  1. danardoyle says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. May God give you much grace to continue your journey in this life – until you and your precious daughter meet again.

  2. K Zhang says:

    Psalm 28:7 (Psalm 28)

    The Lord is my strength and my shield;

    in him my heart trusts, and I am helped;

    my heart exults,

    and with my song I give thanks to him.

    Psalm 59:16 (Psalm 59)

    But I will sing of your strength;

    I will sing aloud of your steadfast love in the morning.

    For you have been to me a fortress

    and a refuge in the day of my distress.

    The Lord is our strength. We can only be strong in him. God bless you and your family.

  3. Such truth…Thank You K Zhang!

  4. That is what I was looking for Michael. How does God love you. He loves you through the pain. I have never experienced the pain of losing a child, so all I can do is imagine. I love this post. May the many messages you will receive be light for you heart! Keep writing!!

  5. Ann Gardner says:

    I’m praying for you, Stephanie and the boys. Angel is Heaven praying for you too. .

  6. ccjamess says:

    This is a beautiful post and a great way to keep on going.

  7. Hi Michael,
    I was curious to know your story after you posted on my blog. Thank YOU for sharing. I am so so sorry for your loss. I pray God continues to help you heal! If you are a reader the book I mention in my post is giving me so much to think about and I think it is probably a great resource for anyone who has experienced loss. May God bless you and your family as you journey on!

    • Thank you Rana! I have become a reader through this valley…I have read the spectrum from faith to healing from many sources that focus on biblical truths. I will check out “The Voice of the Heart”, thanks for the recommendation. There is no doubt that God is my healer and will continue to be as I turn to Him faithfully.
      God bless, Michael

  8. Peggy says:

    Michael,

    Being able to grieve with hope is a true blessing. Time doesn’t heal, God does. I will pray for you as we both continue our walks and journeys through grief and into a different valley than what we’d imagined.

    Peggy

Leave a Reply

