Willing to be Wrong!

But he gives us more grace. That is why Scripture says: “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.” (Jas. 4:6)

Throughout my journey, I have accumulated numerous ideas, thoughts and beliefs that steer me along my way. Some of these are sound, Godly truths that I maintain and hold onto as a compass to help me in my walk. There are other characteristics that have good intention, but have the ability to take me off course if I am not careful. Finally there are the character-flaw traits that have embedded themselves into my fiber, and at times are difficult to subdue.

The last of these amassed traits are the ones on trial here. Flaws that stem from pride, judgment, stubbornness and anger bring opposition to the forefront, and allow separation to occur between the individuals I interact with and more crucially the relationship I have with God. These blemishes in my personality grew out of many different circumstances, but they all center around fear.

When these defects are in motion, there is no doubt that fear is lingering under the surface. This is my cue that within a situation that has inflamed such emotion, the willingness to be wrong needs to come forward. It is here that I need to exercise one of the many forms of humility. I must relinquish my attachment to this facade of power, and set my target on what may have aroused my fear. This is a task that is not easy, but is gaining strength as one of my accumulated qualities.

I pray that as I go forward, I pay attention to the cues of my heart and humble myself in times when fear has inflamed my defects so that my willingness to be wrong is able to surface when necessary.

May God Bless You and Give You Grace.

About Michael Cartwright

Follower of Christ Jesus! I am a person of patience, compassion and understanding. I have been married to my wonderful wife Stephanie since 1990. We have 3 children Dalton, Dylan and my late daughter Angelica (My Angel Girl) who ascended to the heavens on June 29, 2010. She continues to teach me many great lessons.
This entry was posted in Christian Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.