Walking Louder than Words!

7In everything set them an example by doing what is good. In your teaching show integrity, seriousness 8and soundness of speech that cannot be condemned, so that those who oppose you may be ashamed because they have nothing bad to say about us. (Titus 2:7-8)

Growing up in a home that had little to no discipline, I rarely, if ever heard the dysfunctional phrase “do as I say and not as I do”. This lack of integrity statement was more of an implied way of living rather than verbal instruction. It is not that my parents were delusional about the example they set, they just knew of no other way or how to get out of the circle of life they were caught in. It is an element of human nature that I believe falls to all of us in varying degrees.

As my life came to parenthood, I had similar struggles of character that I did not want my children to model after. It is impossible to teach something that I do not practice or know myself. My bouts with my own life experiences had to find their balance before I could pass them on as wisdom. This is an ongoing road that will grow as it comes to its own conclusion.

I am learning in this leg of my journey that my walk is the only experience I can teach from. I realize this is an obvious declaration, but it is far too easy to state a virtue to follow without having lived it, than to live a virtue without the need to state it. In other words, let my walk speak louder than words.

As I journey from here I pray that the silent method of my example, speaks louder than any words I attempt to mutter, and when my speech is the vehicle to instruct, it comes from the wisdom of my experience given to me from the Lord.

May God Bless You and Give You Grace.

About Michael Cartwright

Follower of Christ Jesus! I am a person of patience, compassion and understanding. I have been married to my wonderful wife Stephanie since 1990. We have 3 children Dalton, Dylan and my late daughter Angelica (My Angel Girl) who ascended to the heavens on June 29, 2010. She continues to teach me many great lessons.
This entry was posted in Christian Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Walking Louder than Words!

  1. Tom Raines says:

    I am with you. What kind of fruit am I producing. Is the Good News evident? Thanks for the challenge.

Leave a Reply

