Judging Forgiveness?

Judge not, and you shall not be judged. Condemn not, and you shall not be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven. (Luke 6:37)

There have been more times than I care to remember when I allowed my ego to steer its way along the path that lay before me. When gone unfiltered, this evil twin can drive a wedge between any and every relationship I encounter, and there is none more critical than that of God Himself. It is my portion of this Divine relationship that gets skewed as He waits patiently for me to get back on track.

When an unsettled circumstance comes upon me that is not of my creation, there tends to be a swift reaction that someone else is to blame. It is in those times when my ego can gain strength and respond in a way that may be difficult to recover from. When this scenario presents itself, the opportunity for judgment is lingering in the shadows. If I allow this character flaw to take shape, I welcome in the trait of self-righteousness, giving me the delusion that I am better off or place myself above the would be perpetrator. I must always remember within any situation there is always a portion, whether minor or at times major, which falls under my responsibility.

If the ungodly act of judgment is permitted to surface, regardless of the struggled path it took to manifest, it will inevitably lead to condemnation. To condemn someone, is to judge them unworthy of being blessed or lead a rewarded life. As I sit and write these words, it is obvious to me I do not possess the authority nor the power to place this curse upon anyone for any reason. This takes me full circle to realize by what right do I have to cast judgment on another.

Stepping back to the unsettled circumstance; if it is determined that I have truly been intruded upon through no fault of my own, I must find it in my heart to release the initial judgment and give way to forgiveness. As I look from my single vantage point, it is not possible for me to know the true perspective of another. In other words, I do not know their walk, where they come from, or why they may do what they do.

It is important for me to realize that if I am unable to forgive someone, I am judging them, and it will come back to me by whatever measure I put forth. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you. (Matt. 7:2)

I pray as I go forward I will recognize my portion of any situation that may cause the act of judgment to surface and quickly turn to forgiveness as the ultimate remedy.

May God Bless You and Give You Grace.

About Michael Cartwright

Follower of Christ Jesus! I am a person of patience, compassion and understanding. I have been married to my wonderful wife Stephanie since 1990. We have 3 children Dalton, Dylan and my late daughter Angelica (My Angel Girl) who ascended to the heavens on June 29, 2010. She continues to teach me many great lessons.
This entry was posted in Christian Faith and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Judging Forgiveness?

  1. Pingback: Linkapalooza « Well Oiled Lamp

  2. Tom Raines says:

    Thanks Michael, this is one of those places where the rubber meets the road isn’t it? Even though we are told when are at the alter and we remember our brother who we need to forgive we should go. NOW? Do I really have to? Yep….that is hard in the flesh. Help us Holy Spirit!

  3. Kimberly says:

    Good word Michael! It is the way of mankind to judge and blame, we have been doing it since the beginning. Eve blamed the serpent and Adam blamed Eve… Thank God for the Holy Spirit who helps us walk in Love!

  4. Evangelist (Mother) Z. Wynter says:

    Praise the Lord Bro. Cartwright,

    We are always praying for you and your family in the spirit of love.

    I was so inspire to read your words of encouragement and testimony God has been truly faithful to you and has strengthen you through your many trials. And especially being a man of God with integrity, when you began to talk about how men can allow their ego to become their worse enemy thankful to God how you are growing in Christ to be an example a pattern of good works in Christ. I do believe that you are a man of valor. My encouragement to you is to stay in the presence of God and know that Kneeology (prayer) is the key and it is always faith that unlocks every door.

    “Be encouraged in spite of.”

    Your Sister in Christ

    • Thank you for the kind words and encouragement. It is so true that we need to turn to Him on a daily, hourly, and minute to minute basis to stay in His presence. The culprit of the ego is one of the weapons the enemy uses to lure us away from the truth. That is why we need to stay present and take inventory of our decisions so we do not become ensnared in “false” truths.

      In Christ,
      Michael

  5. Ella says:

    I came to your post from blogfarm. I whole heartedly appreciate this struggle- both as victim and perpetrator. Seems that every day this challenge presents itself in one manner or another- often sneaking up on us. Before we know it we can be ensnared. As a victim of someone being judgmental toward me I can easily respond (often in my mind) as judgmental toward them.
    I believe as you that we do not know the perspective or life they’ve lived that brings them to look through filters of judgment toward us. It’s hard to stop our immediate feelings/thoughts and remember that something inside them may be hurting or missing. Truly their behavior in such moments is not Christ-like. Just as when we judge we do not reflect Christ’s love. I think it’s incumbent among us Christians to remember that we are a thread that can lead others to Christ, or send them running, by how we manage judgment. The irony is that among our Christian communities and within our diverse churches, judgment is thriving- toward visitors, members and other denominations……..
    Thanks for this thought and soul provoking post! God Bless! -Ella

    • Thank you Ella for the kind words. It is true that if we are not careful we can become ensnared in the same trap. And, if or when we do, we forgive and repent and release any judgment that comes out of any circumstance.

      Thanks again…God bless,
      Michael

Leave a Reply

