The Ancient Trap of My Iniquities!

Walking with JesusDirect my steps by Your word, and let no iniquity have dominion over me. (Ps. 119:133)

The traits of my soul, or any soul for that matter bare the not so pleasant remains of our past. The history of this can go back as far we can take it. In fact, the curse that was cast upon Adam for his initial sin set this course into action and has followed mankind ever since.

To recognize this traveling curse in my own personal journey, I have to look at my upbringing and recent generations to gain proper perspective. My iniquities, as I see them, are the sins or immoral tendencies that have crept down through the generations. A number of flawed characteristics that my father’s father and beyond latched onto, and have now settled into my responsibility. I am now accountable for whatever these flaws or iniquities may be; some of them are evident and others are planted so deep that only God can expose and banish them from my existence.

This being said, it is my responsibility to recognize, acknowledge, and release these iniquities to God as I become aware of them. I must look to Him for the grace to sever the lifeline of this ancient trap so they do not fall to my children and add to their own struggles or self-serving tendencies.

The iniquities of my past are strong deep seeded traits that if allowed to maintain dominance or just rise to the surface can pull me away from Christ quicker that anything else. There is a sense that they belong because of their history, which is why I need to direct my steps by God’s word and allow Him to release the chains of this ancient trap. This is the only way I can halt this harmful, unwanted legacy.

I pray that as I become aware of my embedded iniquities, I am able to release them to God completely, and sever the chain so that my children are released from their burden.

May God Bless You and Give You Grace.

About Michael Cartwright

Follower of Christ Jesus! I am a person of patience, compassion and understanding. I have been married to my wonderful wife Stephanie since 1990. We have 3 children Dalton, Dylan and my late daughter Angelica (My Angel Girl) who ascended to the heavens on June 29, 2010. She continues to teach me many great lessons.
This entry was posted in Christian Faith and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

