Faith is Something!

Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen. (Heb. 11:1)

The all-important, all encompassing element of faith has found its way in to this ongoing journal more than any other topic I have written on. Whether being a direct entry on the subject of faith or intertwined within the context of other entries, it seems to be a common thread that has become woven within the layers of my words. The belief in my walk is not possible without faith. This is an obvious statement, but needs further testimony to clarify its truth.

My journey has taken me in many directions aimlessly searching for evidence of something. The something in this sense, is a vast, anything-I-can-believe-in kind of tangible something. Well, that kind of something is hard to find! And, if you search aimlessly for it, you simply will not find it. I had to relinquish my control on the physical to allow a glimpse of the kind of something I was searching for.

The fact that I have no control over the twist and turns that make up my journey relieves me of a heavy burden I have placed on my shoulders. The journey of life can bring unforeseen tragedy that no one is exempt from. When I lost my Angel Girl last June, it was from the depths of nowhere that this heartbreak arose. The unexpected happened, and there was nothing I could do to reverse it. I had to look to God the Father and have faith in His love to comfort me in something I was unable to understand.

To not know why, or to this day even know how my Angel found her way to heaven is something I have now entrusted to God. Those questions have become unimportant as I go forward in faith and grow in my relationship with Christ. This twist in my journey has landed me on something…and that something is faith!

I must have faith as I step in my relationship with Christ. Faith is my responsibility. It is the one essence of Christ that is not given to me; I must trust to experience the evidence of things not seen. As I go forward, I will walk in faith and know it will lead to the something I have been looking for.

In Faith, May God Bless You and Give You Grace.

About Michael Cartwright

Follower of Christ Jesus! I am a person of patience, compassion and understanding. I have been married to my wonderful wife Stephanie since 1990. We have 3 children Dalton, Dylan and my late daughter Angelica (My Angel Girl) who ascended to the heavens on June 29, 2010. She continues to teach me many great lessons.
This entry was posted in Christian Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Faith is Something!

  1. K Zhang says:

    Hold faith dear to your heart, and the light will shine over you. God bless.

Leave a Reply

