I am a Christian!

Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong. (Eph. 3:17)

I have always considered myself a Christian. It was a label I assumed at a young age attending church and Sunday school. It became the auto response when the question of faith was presented…“yes, I’m a Christian…” I would say. Reflecting back that is all it was, a label. I had no true concept of what it meant. In fact the main value I attached to this was that I was a “good” person. It is a bit chilling when I think of it now, but Christ had little if nothing to do with this self imposed Christian label.

This being my Christian concept, when I encountered people truly convicted in their faith, I thought of them as occult. This is to say, my perception was they were too enthralled in Jesus, and were not in touch with reality. I would steer clear of these “bible thumpers” for fear of entrapment or exposure.

Early on this past year I began a different perspective on my Christian concept. I was hearing a different message in sermons and other faith based discussions. The truth is I was beginning to listen rather than just being present in these encounters. I began to allow the fear of letting go dissipate, and began to tune into the truth of the message…and the truth shall set you free (John 8:32). The truth is Christ died for my sins, and now makes His home in my heart as I trust in Him. There is more to this truth, but this powerful beginning hooked me, once I grasped the depth of this reality.

When my Angel passed away several months after this change of perspective, I was shocked and overwhelmed with confusion. I most definitely had my questions of why, how could this happen! It was a surreal state that is impossible for me to convey. In this state, I never blamed God or became angry. I attribute this to the new relationship I had in Christ. My Angel Girl now knows a deeper truth in all things and I believe that Christ is using her to grow my faith in Him.

I am a Christian because Christ makes his home in my heart as I trust in him. He died for my sins and will continue to wash them away as I release them to him with true repentance. I will be bold in my convictions of Him trusting His light will shine from me. I am a Christian!

May God bless you and give you Grace!

About Michael Cartwright

Follower of Christ Jesus! I am a person of patience, compassion and understanding. I have been married to my wonderful wife Stephanie since 1990. We have 3 children Dalton, Dylan and my late daughter Angelica (My Angel Girl) who ascended to the heavens on June 29, 2010. She continues to teach me many great lessons.
This entry was posted in Christian Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

